Academician R.M.Marupov

       From 1991 to 1999, the Institute was headed by well-known scholar in the spectroscopy of Macromolecular Compounds, Ph.D., D.Sc., Professor, Honored Scientist of the Republic of Tajikistan, Laureate of the Abu Ali ibn Sina State Prize of the Republic of Tajikistan in the field of Science and Technology, academician Rahim Marupovich Marupov. He developed special techniques that allowed by the first time to conduct systematic analysis of spectroscopic characteristics and identify subtle structural features of cotton fibers of different origin, fiber of healthy and diseased plants by wilt. The features of the molecular structure of cotton cellulose during its biosynthesis, fibers, cotton and flax, cellulose nitrate, and the regularities of changes in the molecular-dynamic parameters of the ESR spectra and their correlation with the physical and mechanical properties were studied. The scientific school of Academician R. Marupov can be proud of the names of Prof. P. Babadjanov, Ph.D., D.Sc. T. Shukurov, Dr. D. Saidov, Ph.D. I. Yusupov and other talented scientists.

      By the Resolution of the Presidium of Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tajikistan on the basis of information and conclusions of the evaluation committee on the activity of the Institute for 1991 - 1995 the leadership of the institute had instructed to unite laboratories and enlarge related scientific projects by relating them to the solution of problems aimed at developing the national economy. In February 1996 the Scientific Council of the Institute approved a new structure of the Institute, which was approved by the Department of Physics and Mathematics, Chemical and Geological Sciences of the Academy of Sciences. The number of research units was reduced from 15 to 9. Simultaneously with the reorganization of the structure of the Institute consolidation of the research topics was conducted. In 1995, the research was conducted by 17 projects of the research plan of the Academy of Sciences, financed from the state budget, so in 1996 the number was reduced to 7.